Some Links…. Some Thoughts

by beneaththesurfaces

Surfing the webs quite a bit as of late- looking for something interesting, something to tickle my fancy.  We’ll start off with this interesting blog Still Drinking.

Programming Sucks

Keeping a program afloat sucks monkey balls; and by this I am not speaking of the cute imaginary cartoon monkeys you might be picturing in your head.  No, I am speaking of the feral monkey, who hasn’t washed said balls in a stream or been in the rain for months.  Though I don’t leave work quite as often the last month, with the flavor of salty sweaty hominid ball sack, picking lice out of my teeth as I limp through the parking lot to my car,  as I had over the proceeding two years, the whole thing leave a bad taste in my mouth (errrr…  pun intended?). My favorite quote and the one I most connected with was as follows:

“Eventually every programmer wakes up and before they’re fully conscious they see their whole world and every relationship in it as chunks of code, and they trade stories about it as if sleepiness triggering acid trips is a normal thing that happens to people.”

This was me the summer of 2011 to fall of 2012. Wait… fuuuck….  this saga has been dragging on for three years, and not two as I stated above.   Well 2011/2012 is a dead space for me, so forgive me for having a bit of a fucking time dilation issue.  Its a lot like time travel, except you still fucking age. So I guess its not like time travel at all.  Its more like a year and a half black out drinking event- with the same wear and tear on the body. Regardless, the essay is well worth a read.

 

STORIUM

This is an interesting project- and the first (and probably only) crowd-funded venture I’ve ever given money.  The concept is solid,  collaborative story telling in a “game” format.  Very low tech with a high entertainment value.  Haven’t been involved enough to really give an opinion on the project.

 

Random Thought

I was talking to someone at work about my vacation- and directed them to some public photos on my locked down Friendface account.  I got to thinking that I have no idea what the people in my building are like outside of the office.  I went home that evening and stalked via various social media outlets, various people I see on a day to day basis.  This is not an activity I recommend.  If you were to run the same experiment in your life, I believe you will find these people to surprisingly boring…  and occasionally a little strange, albeit in a rather dull sort of way.  The somewhat sexy account executive who you are sure was a bit wild in her twenties only posts crap about work- and that stodgy executive doesn’t have an interesting cosplay fetish as you suspected (although he does collect model trains- and seems rather obsessed with not only photographing them- but posing with said trains, looking contemplative)

 

 

